All hotels in Nairobi, Kenya
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards nights here
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.9 / 5Outstanding

Score breakdown (from 47 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.9
  • Comfort
    4.8
  • Condition
    4.9
  • Neighbourhood
    4.3
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"5 star experience"
excellent hotel....by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 18, 2013
gerd
GB

The following English reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Will be back soon."
It was great like the many times before!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Jun 13, 2015
N A
IE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice new hotel very clean and courteous staff"
It's the second time I stay in this hotel and it's worth the money spent. New hotel very clean fast check in nice and helpful staff
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 10, 2015
alex
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Fantastic hotel in Nairobi."
We stayed here twice while visiting Kenya and each time the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The food in the Asian restaurant was absolutely fantastic. The prawn starter a 'must try'! The pool is great - the spa is truly international luruxy standard and the gym is extremely clean, bright and great for a jetlag cure. Excellent duvets and pillows. All in all a fantastic hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Nov 16, 2014
A Traveller
CA
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Still brilliant!"
I have stayed at this hotel,on business, several times. It is still brilliant and certainly does NOT disappoint.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Oct 22, 2014
A Traveller
ZA
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Best Place To Stay"
We first stayed at the Hilton thinking it would be the nicest around and it was average for an african hotel, but then we stayed here and it was amazing! truly first class service and the best accomidation and nicest staff in a hotel I've ever seen.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Oct 4, 2014
John
IE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Outstanding"
The hotel is brand new, very nicely designed and great service. The only minor drawback is the location - central location with easy access to Nairibi by taxi, but not easily accessible by foot and not a lot of things to do within walking distance
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Oct 3, 2014
A Traveller
IE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"My second home !"
I really enjoy staying at this hotel. The staff are professional and friendly. The service is great!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip Sep 22, 2014
mich
ZA
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Best hotel in whole of Africa"
The Kempinski is an amazing property. This was my third time staying here since they opened in November 2013, and the service is as good as any place I've stayed. The staff is super attentive, very responsive, thoughtful and very kind. Makes you feel at home. International guests, but you always feel like you are part of a family. Staff is well trained and always keen to help. Rooms are perfectly sized, very clean with nice amenities. George Nato, the head concierge, John Muita and Genevieve are fantastic. Always there. The food at the Cafe is fresh, and plenty of choices. I would never stay anywhere else but this hotel in Nairobi.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
5 night business trip Aug 29, 2014
Louise Guido
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
My fiancée and I stayed one night at the Kempinksi to celebrate our engagement. Despite the hotel not having prior notice, they arranged a free room upgrade for us and late check-out the next day to allow us to make the most of the facilities. The concierge also helped us to get a reservation at another exclusive hotel in Nairobi despite it being fully booked in high season. The whole experience at the Kempinksi was fantastic and I hope to stay at their hotels again in future.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 2, 2014
A Traveller
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great quality and service"
Overall good quality and service
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Aug 8, 2014
visitor
IE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent hotel"
The front desk staff were very welcoming and accepted to check me in well before the stated 2 pm check in time. The room was just superb and felt good.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 3, 2014
john
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Beautiful but a few flaws"
Lovely stay, big rooms, beautiful furnishings, but no coffemaker or iron in room
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 29, 2014
Ephel
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great after-safari hotel."
If you are looking for a first class hotel, look here first! Absolutely best-of-the-best hotel here. Lacks adequate dining options (on property) but staff is amazing and you will not regret your experience!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Mar 14, 2014
A Traveller
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"New hotel teething problems"
Great entrance, service, clean, modern look Victorian decor. Only issue was rooms are small. Free wifi which is great for a business hotel. Would stay here again but not going to be my first choice choice until they are about 1year old.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Mar 21, 2014
Sham
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Best hotel in Nairobi"
No another hotel in Nairobi can beat it!!!! I will always come back!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night business trip Feb 21, 2014
A Traveller
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent hotel!"
Very good hotel & service.. Great and new hotel in Nairobi. HIghly recommended
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Feb 19, 2014
A Traveller
IE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice and quite"
Great room and clean and professional staff with great restaurant even the qty of plates is less but good food
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 22, 2014
omar
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very nice stay"
We stayed at the villa rosa kempenski for 3 nights before a trip on safari. The hotel was brand new and a good relaxing break. The staff couldn't do enough for us.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Dec 28, 2013
A Traveller
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great new hotel"
Everything is new and clean. Service is outstanding. Everyone is friendly and helpful.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Dec 17, 2013
Jonathan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Staff is a little slow, but the hotel is 6 star status, especially the gym and pool area.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 3, 2013
Alex
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"nice hotel in near center of Nairobi"
overall it was a great time. food was great, room was clean and nice. one drawback was it was relatively new, therefore some of the facilities, such as spa, was not completed and unable to use it at the moment. otherwise, rest of the stay was enjoyable.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 17, 2013
Junho
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Amazing service"
The service was amazing. Extraordinary, really. Each staff person. Every one was fantastic - always attentive, always willing to help and always with a smiling face. The head concierge, George Nato, was terrific; very professional, very in-tune with guests. For a fairly new hotel, they were super accommodating. One challenge is the rooms can be noisy on the front part of the hotel (which faces a main road). They should really put in double pane windows; but, that is more management and owner issue; not the staff.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
7 night business trip Nov 8, 2013
Louise
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very sophisticated,clean and nice city hotel."
Perfect.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 11, 2013
A Traveller
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great service. Noisy location"
Really great service here. Above the normal for even a high end hotel. Negative is do not get a room on the main road. The windows are not double-paned (for some strange reason for a new hotel), but otherwise terrific hotel. George NATO, the concierge and his team were exceptional. Restaurant one of best for a hotel, and very personalized service. Would stay here again - but make sure have quiet room:-)
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Nov 1, 2013
Louise
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful hotel in Westland."
Villa Rosa is in a beautiful rose colored turn of the century style villa. Everything is new and gleaming. The only restaurant that was open replicated the room service menu, not very exciting. It offered only buffet style service for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 3 more restaurants are in the planning stage, something of which potential guests should be made aware. This was very disappointing.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 8, 2013
Barbara
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Best Hotel in Nairobi"
This was my first stay at the Villa Rosa, it's an outstanding hotel, the staff were very courteous and friendly from hotel pick-up to drop. The rooms are nice and spacious and the bathroom is the best I've seen in a hotel of recent. The food is also great, though I have tried only one restaurant
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 7, 2013
Souleymane
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Convenient, Comfortable, and Cozy"
I only stayed for one night during an overnight transit from Harare. The breakfast was excellent, the room was very comfortable, and the staff were friendly. The only recommendation I have would be to include coffee/tea in the room.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Sep 27, 2013
A Traveller
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very high quality hotel with very friendly staff"
The staff went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed, the rooms were very nice and the food was good. One this hotel has fully established itself and opened all the restaurants/bars it offers, this will be the best place in Nairobi to stay.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 29, 2013
Ali
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"A True 5-star"
In an area where star ratings seem a little inflated, Villa Rosa Kempinski is a true 5-star. We were there 5 days 20-25 September 2013. Staff attentiveness was outstanding, the room was spotless and well appointed, and the overall facility has a "wow" factor. Hotel location is excellent for shopping and dining (although the Westgate tragedy at least temporarily impacts that). Hard to imagine a better hotel in Nairobi.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 28, 2013
Denny
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"brand new luxury just outside Nairobi City center"
The most welcoming staff I have ever experienced. Hotel is init's soft opening and some of the restaurants will not open for two weeks. However, that did not stop the outstanding service. The rooms are immaculate and the bedding is top notch. This will be the place to stay in Nairobi by Christmas!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 17, 2013
Manny
US

The following reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Fab"
Fantastic hotel and best staff we haver ever met.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Nov 11, 2014
Anncharlotte
SE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"unreal great,and i travel a lot :-)"
stayed more in the hotel,then outside :-)beds was the best,food was great,service was great:-)
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 11, 2014
A Traveller
NO
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Top quality"
TOP!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Jun 12, 2014
Nico
NL
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Best hotel in Nairobi"
Excellent hotel with a lot of love to details! Outstanding service. Extremly friendly! High quality along the chain. I will come back! For sure! Staff needs more training!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Feb 10, 2014
Sliman
NL
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Uitstekend"
Een uitstekend hotel, zeer goede prijs kwaliteit verhouding. Bedden top. Ontbijt was fantastisch. Zeer aan te bevelen.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Dec 29, 2013
A Traveller
NL
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Jul 31, 2014
A Traveller
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip Mar 20, 2014
A Traveller
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Nov 14, 2014
David
IE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night trip Aug 27, 2014
A Traveller
IE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Jul 17, 2014
Visitor from Holland
IE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Mar 27, 2014
A Traveller
CA
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
8 night business trip Feb 25, 2014
A Traveller
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Feb 19, 2014
A Traveller
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Jan 31, 2014
A Traveller
IE
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Mar 6, 2014
A Traveller
JP
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Aug 26, 2013
A Traveller
IT

TripAdvisor reviews for Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi

Overall rating:Based on 233 traveller reviews

Most recent traveller reviews:

Overall Rating
"Delighting Customers "
01/08/2015 SalmaHussein11 Cairo Governorate, Egypt
Spent 3 nights to attend Business meeting, hotel staff members were very welcoming and always with a smile. exceptional services wherever you are (lobby, room, spa, different restaurants and meeting rooms). Food is good and all of them work to exceed their customers expectations.
Overall Rating
"The best or nothing!!!!"
31/07/2015 Diana N
Wow wow wow...there are hotels and then there are 'hotels'.. it is not always about the tangible but rather about the intangible assets, the unsung heroes. It would be unfair to first talk about a building when it is the people that blew me away. Never have l met a people more humble, pleasant, sincere, helpful, genuine, thoughtful...l could go on. From the porter who received us, to the reception, to the dining area, to the bar area, to in-room dining, to housekeeping, to the driver who transported us in Nairobi..well, except for the security guards not that they did anything wrong but given the nature of their job l suppose it explains their demeanor. From serving food, to asking why l didn't finish a dish, to hanging a coat, to opening a box, to removing baggage wrapping, to declining a tip, to checking up on me as l was unwell, to giving directions, to empathising with me..l sent my laundry for washing & specifically asked for it not to be ironed and it wasn't, not a crease did l find..the employees really went the extra mile.. l cannot say enough how these employees have restored my faith in the hospitality industry. The architecture, the ambience, l was pleasantly surprised. The view of the Westland area from my room was nothing short of amazing, l suppose the perks of being on the 8th floor. I love space and the room l stayed in allowed for this. It is interesting how having almost treble the number of hangers found in any other hotel had me smiling for days, you see l do not like to fold clothes, l prefer to hang them. The beds where made up & then turned down at night, for in-room dining the food was served on trolleys which is more convenient than trying to create space for a tray. The bed was comfortable, the rooms where serviced daily and although not vacuumed remained clean, l didn't see hair on the shower floor (yay), my feet got lost in the carpet in the passageway and there was ample lighting in the room. The culinary skills where good although more can still be done in terms of having a variety of meals or dishes rather. I do not eat pork and this was the only roast available for the buffet which was disappointing. The fish cooked over the braai was a little tough and although the menu was pretty standard, the quality of food served was generally high..even the presentation was finessed. Other than traffic in Nairobi which is a nightmare during peak hours (we learnt this the hard way), l enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would recommend it.
Overall Rating
"Excellent service "
31/07/2015 Joelleeeeee Mauritius
This is an hotel that actually cares for its guests. Excellent service and one of the best hotels i have been to date. Has several facilities and i never got bored travelling in solo. The personal is very good at understanding your needs are quite responsive. At least a place you have fast excellent wifi coverage. The food is good and the rooms very comfortable with all essentials amenities.
Overall Rating
"Bad breakfast, noisy rooms, only the price is 5 stars"
31/07/2015 Budapest09 Vienna, Austria
I stayed for one week in this hotel. I guess the worst breakfast I had in my life being charged US30!!! Bitter coffee, poor industrial orange juice, pastry and croissant are dry and not eatable to my standards, eggs over cooked, choice of other dishes very limited, skimmed milk for cereals in option (was there the 1st day then no show)... A real drama!!! Please get rod of the chef or the F&B! Overall hotel decoration is basic international tasteless, without any cosy corner. Rooms have poor quality windows so if you face the highway ( like half of the hotel rooms and supposed to be better and Deluxe), you will sleep with the noise of the cars... horrible. Rooms themselves are OK if you disregard the noise with excellent beds. Internet signal is very poor and slow. I could not connect my computer to my professional network for one week. Service and staff is great, professional and helpfull. That's the only "Kempinski" touch to my opinion. There are much better hotels and some new ones in Nairobi for better value. Avoid this place. Mediocre is already a generous rating.
Overall Rating
"Excellent Hotel"
27/07/2015 13JOSE13 Pretoria
No doubt one of the best hotels I've stayed at recently. Generally undrestated luxury and great service, those two things stand out for me. The staff was attentive and always friendly, the waiter at the bar even remembered what each one of us (4) had to drink the night before. Rooms are large and well decorated, bathrooms are beautiful, can't fault it really. My room had a small balcony which was lovely. Breakfast buffet was impressive and everything fresh and delicious. Free wifi was available in the entire hotel and worked well. A well equipped gym and pool is available to all guests, free water and towels. An exceptional hotel in all aspects.
Overall Rating
"This is a great hotel"
13/07/2015 Donna B Swindon, United Kingdom
I loved everything about this hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful. George Nato the Chief Concierge couldn't do enough for us and he helped make our stay extra special. The food was good, my room was spotless and very relaxing. The early morning alarm call was a bit hit and miss I received it 2 out of the 4 days. I will definitely stay here again.
Overall Rating
"Wonderful and safe place to stay"
07/07/2015 Sadiejo2013
The staff, especially the front drive valets, were professional and friendly. The room was well-appointed and clean, the spa and massage treatment one of the best I've ever experienced. I arrived from an international flight and left the next morning, but the staff helped get me to the guest room quickly and the spa was so kind as to fit me in that evening for a much needed massage after a very long travel day. The breakfast was excellent and I would recommend staying here. The cocktails and bar snacks were just perfect before a massage and much needed sleep.
Overall Rating
"Great hotel"
06/07/2015 NickSmut Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Very secure, clean, polite and reliable hotel. Will definitely stay here again. The rooms are very modern and the breakfast buffet is very good. Only gripe is the price which is steep for Kenya but you get what you pay for! The large gates and security checks offer good reassurance.
Overall Rating
"Expensive but very good"
01/07/2015 T-Africa2000 Johannesburg, South Africa
A great hotel on the CBD side of Westlands on the main road (Uhuru Highway). The rooms a large and beautifully fitted out - brand new as well. Checking in was fast and friendly and service was generally very good. Breakfasts were not included and at $28 are not inexpensive. A lovely selection though. With breakfast and taxes it came to $400 per room which is top end in Nairobi. It is a better hotel than any of the other of the hotels I have stayed in though. Wi-fi works exceptionally well and it has a great gym, spa and pool area. There are a number of bars and restaurants close by in Westlands. It took us close on 2 hours to get there from the airport during peak traffic.
Overall Rating
"Best Cocktail Ever"
30/06/2015 NgureTharao Nairobi, Kenya
Was invitd for a cocktail and was expecting the usual bitings nad limited drinks given at such occassions but to everyone's surprise, Kempinski had five different types of all you can eat buffet and drinks were to your fill. The Hotel is in a class of it's own. The Ambiance is great and the staff are very friendly. This is a place I'm sure I will visit again and again.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews