Skip to main content.
All properties in London, England, United Kingdom
1 room, 2 adults

The Royal Horseguards

5-star5 stars
2 Whitehall Court, London, England, SW1A 2EJ, United Kingdom

Luxury hotel with restaurant, near National Gallery
  • Free WiFi
  • Collect nightsYou can collect™ Rewards nights here
From 5,927 reviews. TripAdvisor Traveller Rating.

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating

Great location
Fantastic service
Great amenities
Tasty breakfast

The Royal Horseguards

from £190
  • Deluxe Room, 1 Double Bed
  • Standard Single Room, 1 Single Bed
  • Standard Double Room, 1 Double Bed
  • Standard Twin Room, 2 Single Beds
  • Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed
  • Deluxe Twin Room, 2 Single Beds
  • River View Room 1 Double Bed
  • River View Room 1 King Bed
  • Deluxe Double Room, 1 Double Bed, Garden View
  • Deluxe Double Room, 1 King Bed, Garden View

What’s around The Royal Horseguards

Top spots nearby

Recommended by this property

  • National Gallery (3-minute walk)
  • Coca-Cola London Eye (5-minute walk)
  • Churchill War Rooms (5-minute walk)
  • Westminster Abbey (6-minute walk)
  • Houses of Parliament (8-minute walk)
  • Buckingham Palace (11-minute walk)
  • St. Paul's Cathedral (18-minute walk)
  • The Shard (24-minute walk)
  • Tower of London (32-minute walk)
  • O2 Arena (5.5 mi / 8.8 km)

Getting around

  • London (LHR-Heathrow) 45-min drive
  • London (LGW-Gatwick) 88-min drive
  • London (LCY-London City) 32-min drive
  • London (LTN-Luton) 73-min drive
  • London (STN-Stansted) 61-min drive
  • London (SEN-Southend) 73-min drive
  • London Charing Cross Station 5-min walk
  • London Waterloo Station 14-min walk
  • London Waterloo East Station 16-min walk
  • Embankment Station 3-min walk
  • Charing Cross Underground Station 5-min walk
  • Westminster Underground Station 8-min walk

At a glance

Key facts

Hotel size

  • This hotel has 282 rooms


  • Check-in time 3 PM-midnight
  • Check-out time is noon

Required at check-in

  • Credit card or cash deposit required

  • Government-issued photo ID required

Travelling with others


  • No cribs (infant beds)


  • Pets not allowed (service animals welcome)


  • Free WiFi in public areas

  • Free WiFi in rooms



  • Valet parking *

Payment types at the property

  • Cash

Other information

  • Smoke-free property
* See small print for additional details or extra charges

In the hotel

Food and drink
  • Full breakfast daily (surcharge)
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/lounge
  • 24-hour room service
Things to do
  • Fitness facilities
Working away
  • Business centre
  • Meeting rooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Concierge services
  • Tours/ticket assistance
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service
  • Laundry facilities
  • Luggage storage
  • Wedding services
  • Multilingual staff
  • Porter
  • Lift
  • Garden
  • Terrace
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Accessible bathroom
  • In-room accessibility
  • Wheelchair-accessible path of travel
Languages Spoken
  • Arabic
  • Dutch
  • English
  • Filipino
  • French
  • German
  • Greek
  • Hindi
  • Hungarian
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Latvian
  • Lithuanian
  • Polish
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Slovak
  • Spanish
  • Ukrainian

In the room

Home comforts
  • In-room climate control (air conditioning)
  • Air conditioning
  • Coffee/tea maker
  • Bathrobes
Sleep well
  • Blackout drapes/curtains
  • Turndown service
  • Egyptian-cotton sheets
Freshen up
  • Designer toiletries
  • Hair dryer
Be entertained
  • Plasma TV
Stay connected
  • Desk
  • Free WiFi
  • Phone
Food and drink
  • Free bottled water
  • Daily housekeeping
  • In-room safe (laptop compatible)
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms available

The Royal Horseguards’s small print

Also known as

  • Royal Horseguards Hotel London
  • The Royal Horseguards London, England
  • England
  • Royal Horseguards London
  • The Royal Horseguards Hotel
  • The Royal Horseguards London
  • The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
  • Royal Horseguards Hotel
  • Royal Horseguards London
  • Royal Horseguards
  • The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
  • The Royal Horseguards London, England
  • The Royal Horseguards Hotel
  • The Royal Horseguards London
  • The Royal Horseguards Hotel London


The property has connecting/adjoining rooms. These are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property using the number on the booking confirmation.

Optional extras

Valet parking costs GBP 110 per day

Rollaway beds are available for GBP 40.00 per night

Full breakfast is offered for an extra charge of GBP 24 per person (approximately)

We have included all charges provided to us by this property. However, charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the unit you book.

Most helpful reviewsReviews are sorted based on what customers found most helpful and our recommendations

Superb 9.0 From 984 reviews

Exceptional 10.0
Great Hotel/ Great Location/ Excellent Staff
The staff at The Royal Horseguards were great. Everyone was friendly and upbeat. The doorman outside of the hotel always had the most pleasant smile on his face...The hotel is located right near embankment station which gets you pretty much anywhere in London. It is within walking distance to Big Ben, Westminster Abby, Buckingham Palace and about a twenty minute walk to the Globe Theatre...My husband and I loved that all we had to do was a quick walk over the bridge closest to the hotel to get to the South Bank which ended up being our favorite part of London. ( FUN PRO TIP) - On Friday, Satuday, and Sundays, if you walk to the south bank there is a bunch of food tents at the Southbank Centre. Korrito was mine and my husbands favorite.... The Royal Horseguards could not have been any better of a location to stay. So much is close by and convientent to get to...Piccadilly Circus is a short walk away...Trafalgar Square is about two blocks away---You really cant go wrong staying here....Also they give complimentary soft drinks in your mini fridge as well as snacks...The hotel room itself is well kept given how old the hotel itself is...We had an amazing stay and I look forward to staying at the Horseguards the next time I travel to England.. One of my favorite things in the hotel was that there is a tv in the shower, a towel warmer and tile warmers-that was amazing!
F, usOther trip
Fair 4.0
Pros vs Cons
Pros: Great location River view Courteous staff Comfortable Bed Coffee/Tea service in room Cons: Dangerous bathroom for older people- bathtub set higher than floor, shower curtains let water through onto floor, step out of tub to lower floor and wet bathmat leads to slipping and falling. I fell once, wife fell twice. Rubber mats are available from housecleaning after you fall on your butt. Requested roll away in advance, reception had no idea when we arrived. Was requested for 4 nights, after 3rd night bed was removed even though I already paid for 4 nights. Called desk, sent another bed but only had 2 legs, brought another that was dirty and very worn and tattered. TV volume was horrible. % star hotel had only BBC channels, nothing else. Complained 4 times and was told a manager would contact us to correct the problem-Never happened. No bed turn down and/or water on 2 of 7 nights, 2 nights regular water was substituted with sparkling water, who drinks that in the middle of the night? Dirty dishes, empty bottles, etc, not removed after room service. Pillows very uncomfortable Door slams EVERY time for your room and EVERYONE ELSE. Never had any manager response while there for a week. Tried to get resolution by contacting the manager via email after trip was over. Michael Penny responded by email but only refunded one night charge for roll away. Nothing for bruises on wife and myself, terrible TV, poor room service, etc.
Mike, usOther trip
Exceptional 10.0
Perfect central location for first time visitors
We did a spur-of-the-moment trip (first time over the pond!) and this was the perfect hotel to meet the images we have ingrained from our youth! It is a beautiful hotel set in picturesque, grand surroundings right across from the Thames and the London Eye. The staff was very considerate and friendly. We arrived early morning (check-in was 3:00pm), but they tried to accommodate us as best as they could, which was very nice. We got to shower and freshen up in a temporary room and went out for a bit of sight-seeing. When we returned after seeing some local sights (“Look Kids! Big Ben! Parliament!”), and after having sampled some fish-and-chips and drinks, we were handed our key-cards and found our luggage already delivered to our new room. Appointments were nice and appropriate for a building of its age (it was built in the mid-1800’s for those expecting a 5 star experience from new hotel). If you are a frequent traveler to New York City, this would be similar to two midtown upper-end rooms connected together with a view, and a free mini-bar. Our bartender was truly stupendous. He makes a delightful gin-based drink that is similar to a mojito, except made with fruity muddled bits and magic. Management: please give him a raise, he’s an asset. Truly. If you visit, ask for that drink and say those Vikings fans said you have a decent gin drink you love to make…
usFamily trip
Fair 4.0
Nice hotel but our room was given to someone else.
I booked a larger room with two single beds and a sitting area as I was travelling with a friend. I prepaid the room to ensure that I got this type of room. First of all, when we checked in, we were told that they had no rooms left with two beds. I train they would have to figure something out as this is what I had booked and paid for. After having a complimentary drink on the terrace, we were told that thy were able to sort things out and gave us our keys. We went to our room and dropped off our bags and unpacked a few things. We the. Went for dinner. When we returned that evening, our room keys did not work and it sounded like someone was in our room. We went back to the front desk and explained the situation. The front desk clerk came up to room with us and knocked on the door. Sure enough, someone answered. Our room was given to someone else after we had already checked in with our personal belongings in the room. So we took our bags back downstairs and waited again for the. To find another room. As there were apparently no other rooms available, we ended up with two smaller single rooms. This was ok but not as nice as he room we had initially booked. The staff were very apologetic and offered to provide dinner on them while we staid there. However, this should never happen as our personal belongings were at risk of going missing by allowing someone else into our room while we were not there. While I was initially excited to stay at this hotel, not sure I will again.
Alexander, ca2 night trip with friends
Good 6.0
Our stay did not get off to a good start as the email I sent via the Expedia website regarding my co-travellers disability was not responded to. So I called the hotel and spoke with a member of the reception team who was disinterested in the subject of my call to say the least. When we arrived the request made at booking and further mentioned in my email had not been noted. HOWEVER, the hotel then made up for this in so many ways, with a fantastic room overlooking the river being allocated to my companion. The service in the bar was attentive and then our request for room service meal late at night was met brilliantly. The breakfast buffet could have had more signs to indicate what was on offer - e.g. the meats and I overheard a number of people trying to ask for the milk to be replenished but being simply ignored by staff in the buffet area. However, the team waiting on the tables were great. And a special mention for the doormen and foyer team. Simply lovely and very much appreciated. We will definitely stay again. p.s. do make the effort to look for the kettle and very generous supply of coffee, tea and biscuits. It will probably be hidden in a draw.
Fi, gbOther trip

The Royal Horseguards

Is the description of this property not correct? Tell us