Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Penrith, England, United Kingdom
1 room, 2 adults
Pooley Bridge, Penrith, England, CA10 2NP, United Kingdom
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
9.2
Superb213 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
  • 10.0
  • 8.0
  • 6.0
  • 4.0
  • 2.0

Narrow reviews:

213 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 17, 2020
Really enjoyed my stay... would highly recommend. The room and breakfast were both great. Staff were lovely. My only criticism was the shower - it kept running hot
Emma2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Mar 11, 2020
Lovely stay at The Crown. We booked a small double and it was adequate for our needs. Very pretty village. The rear of The Crown is particularly nice. It sits on Ullswater with a lovely outside space, which I anticipate is very nice in summer.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 7, 2020
A must stay!!
Amazing hotel! Gorgeous cosy and beautiful room. Fantastic shower. Friendly and efficient staff. Breakfast had so much choice it was hard to choose! The full Cumbrian breakfast was outstanding. Definitely come back!
Lyndsey1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 20, 2020
Great location and great staff. A must for exploring the lakes.
Catherine1 night family trip
Verified Ebookers guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 18, 2020
Great place!
Fantastic hotel and great food. Service was excellent also
Matt1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 17, 2020
super stay
Great stay wish it had been longer,We were also upgraded,fantastic.
ANDREW1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 13, 2020
Pooley Bridge
Beautiful scenic location, the hotel decor was very nice. Food was excellent. The only issue was that the walls were so thin, we could hear Everyone in the corridor, next door moving around and showering etc
Adam1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 16, 2020
Lovely place to stay, the staff were really friendly. Good location as a base to explore.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Jan 1, 2020
Could do better.
Comfy clean room, but location of room meant lots of noisy guests returning to rooms and noise from bar and people stood outside smoking. Only 2 out 3 breakfasts were of a good standard, mistakes with orders and taking 40 minutes to get a below par breakfast on the second day means we will not be returning to this establishment.
3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Dec 26, 2019
Very poor cleanliness
Didn't get into the room until 3:30pm. No towels or toiletries. Found dog hairs in the bed and had to change rooms - not impressed
MARK1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 19, 2019
thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Pooley Bridge
mark1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 20, 2019
Perfect!!!!!!
Mary1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 15, 2019
Wow
Fantastic place to stay staff were friendly and helpful . Food was fantastic . Breakfast was really good . He views where breath taking .
Simon1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 28, 2019
My Dog wants to go back!
Outstanding pub and place to stay. Perfectly placed in the heart of Pooley Bridge, this smart looking (inside and out) pub and B&B is wonderful. Staff so friendly and helpful and if you have a pooch, there is no better place to be. Rooms fab, food fab, walker and dog friendly and staff go out of there way to accommodate you and your pooch! Will definitely be going back!
John3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 13, 2019
Needed a hotel around the Penrith area and having stayed before it was a no brainier
Simon1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 11, 2019
Stay at The Crown
Superb place to stay. Fantastic accommodation, food and service. Would highly recommend.
Jane1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 8, 2019
SUPERB
Our first stay at The Crown, location was perfect, rooms , food and service all excellent. Would definitely recomend.
Jane1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 8, 2019
Room was lovely
Fay1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 8, 2019
The only negative I would have was, you are unable to order a hot drink from the bar for the outside terrace. A member of staff will serve you at your seat.... I had to go and chase this up when no staff came out in 15 mins. Other than that fantastic stay.
1 night family trip
Verified Ebookers guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 29, 2019
Great stay
Great hotel and pub in e excellent location for lakes
1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 27, 2019
Very friendly staff, great hotel - would use this every time I visit the area.
2 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 17, 2019
Location is lovely. The breakfast was excellent. Staff friendly and a nice dinner. Room was small but nicely furnished. Good shower.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 21, 2019
Great find!
Great place in a great location for walking. Good service and value for money. Very comfortable room.
Graham1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 1, 2019
100% recommend!
Never usually write reviews but Couldn’t have been more impressed! Food was outstanding. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room Very clean and comfortable. Extremely impressed and with stunning views a moments walk away!
Peter1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Sep 12, 2019
Location, but bridge a problem as unusable until next year - TV in room only 4 channels
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 12, 2019
Friendly staff, lovely location
Lovely overnight stay, free upgraded room.
Louise1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 10, 2019
Old inn beautifully and tastefully renovated. Great location in Centre of village and next to the river. Individual rooms very well equipped. No elevator. Excellent manager and staff. Nothing too much trouble. Evening meals in bar tasty and enjoyable. Local produce. Glass dining room overlooks river. Just perfect to enjoy the full freshly cooked breakfast. Not far from M6 but Pooley bridge is currently closed for repairs. Diversion in operation. Check with hotel first. Love to stay again.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 9, 2019
The interior of the hotel is very comfortable and well furnished and the room was a comfortable size and well appointed. The dining and breakfast facilities are enjoyable
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 30, 2019
Weekend trip
The hotel was clean, comfortable and the room had everything we needed. The service in the restaurant at both dinner and breakfast was outstanding!
Hannah2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 25, 2019
v/good ,
v/good place next to the river , rooms excellent , staff polite and v/busy parking is bit of a nightmare
simon1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 22, 2019
An excellent choice. [Please add a bit more to your review. (Minimum 50 characters)]
StandWithHK1 night family trip
Verified Ebookers guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 18, 2019
The room was lovely and en-suite was a good size with nice shower. The breakfast was also great with lots of options to choose from.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 13, 2019
Lovely stay in a fantastic location
Lovely room, felt like a home from home. Great food in the pub downstairs and staff could not have been more welcoming.
Becca2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Aug 12, 2019
Great stay
Friendly staff, good food and great level of accommodation; we really enjoyed our stay.
June2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jul 11, 2019
Very nice property with lovely surroundings. Rooms are good size and clean
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 8, 2019
The hotel was the best we have ever stayed in and I could not find anything to improve the facilities
RobertHazelden2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 1, 2019
This property was lovely. Really traditional cottage vibe. Rooms were clean and very well proportioned, with a living area which was petfect for our daughter to play with no worries and then round the corner a wonderful room for us, comfy bed and amazing veiws of the countryside. Would 100% recommend this property. Perfext for a quiet break to relax and unwind. Food was really good, espeaially the cooked breakfast and plenty of choice for our daughter. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Will definatly be going back in the near future.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 5, 2019
Lovely hotel
Lovely hotel we really enjoyed our stay. The manager was very helpful the rooms quirky and comfortably furnished. The breakfast was great and the staff very helpful. We will be back soon
Maria2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jun 28, 2019
Best terrace with fabulous views
Lovely hotel and location is amazing. Staff friendly and efficient. Was upset at the Riverview room I was informed was allocated to me turned out to be a small window overlooking the kitchen with steam bellowing out at some points and the view to the river was not really a view. There is no air conditioning in the rooms and it was very hard to sleep. The room itself was very tastefully decorated and the bathroom was lovely with a fantastic shower. When I mentioned this the following morning on checkout the manager was lovely and apologetic and discounted my bill which I was extremely pleased with. I would definitely go back to this hotel but not room 14 or on a hot night.
Lisa1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jun 7, 2019
Had to go outside to get to our room although this probably meant it was quieter as the main pub was busy Friday and Saturday evenings Rooms had only a fairly small window So there was limited daylight in the room Very good breakfast. You can sit outside in good weather. Overall we were very happy, positioned in central Pooley Bridge and could park outside most of the time.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 25, 2019
5 star breakfast Excellent outdoor beer garden area Excellent customer service from staff
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 29, 2019
Lovely room overlooking River, staff excellent, parking very difficult
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 4, 2019
Comfortable room of a good size and very pleasant staff. Rear overlooks the river. Small car park which is open to public, making free parking very hit and miss.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 17, 2019
This hotel was great, good atmosphere in the bar/restaurant & lovely food. Paul (the general manager) was kind enough to arrange us a twin room as the booking was a slight mix up for a double instead - thank you for that! Stephen served us food & drink - he was very helpful & lovely to chat to, as were all the staff. Really recommend this hotel!
Katiewilson2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 8, 2019
One night stay near Penrith
An overnight stay to break the journey from the Scottish Highlands to the South of England. Lovely welcome, efficient and helpful staff. Perfectly cooked steak, breakfast was ok. Very nice room with everything you need including fresh milk for tea and coffee. We would certainly recommend it.
Mr D L1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 2, 2019
Excellent service
Michael1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Apr 18, 2019
Lovely place with amazing staff and location. Rooms well equipped abs always clean.
4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 8, 2019
Spotless Inn, Great location
Fantastic inn, right at the head of Ullswater with brilliant access to the Lakeland Way, Ullswater steamers and the Southern Lakes. Our room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was extremely good, plenty of choice from the buffet (cereals, fresh fruit, croissants, yoghurt, granola etc.) Of the cooked breakfasts we tried the eggs benedict and porridge - both very good. The Bar had a range of ales and the usual lagers/ciders and gets very popular when the sun is shining as it has an excellent outdoor area and sun terrace. Some bedrooms look out directly onto the terrace and are not quite as private. There is parking at the front if you are very lucky, but if you move your car, the place will be snaffled within seconds. If you drive just past the Sun Inn Car Park, on the left, the fella charged us £10 for three nights parking - off the road, quiet and an absolute bargain.
Ian3 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 4, 2019
Great location on northern edge of Ulleswater and walks nearby
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 28, 2019
Great staff, lovely room, excellent breakfast.
Peter1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews